Radio is cleaning up the nation… Or where are women’s voices on the airwaves?

With the news that BBC Radio Five Live was shedding female presenters came the understandable outrage.

Adrian-ChilesAfter all, these women, Victoria Derbyshire and Shelagh Fogarty, couldn’t have decided to leave the station of their own accord, could they?

In actuality, they might have, they might not – but when I wrote my column, I was less concerned with why – and much much more concerned with the fact that it was so.

The airwaves once humming with the dulcet tones of these two women were to see male replacements brought on.

In themselves, the new presenters Adrian Chiles, Dan Walker, Tony Livesey – all may be fantastic and I’m sure listeners will think so.

But I still hold a belief that there should be some balance between genders on a publicly-funded station, and I haven’t heard anything yet to change my mind.

Read the piece here.

Leave a Reply

