The force be with you… Or the famed actor who wasn’t at all starry

I am not alone in my affection for the original Star Wars trilogy.

I wouldn’t call myself a megafan – someone with a Darth Vader cutout in their lounge and an entire history of the galaxy memorised for more than just the sake of pub quiz skills.

But I always enjoyed A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi with my family when I was a kid, characterising every Christmas and Easter outing of the films with an obsessive detailing of the script.

Warwick CollageSo speaking to Warwick Davis, who started out his film career as Wicket the Ewok in 1983’s Jedi, was both thrilling and nerve-wrecking.

I was talking to him about his ITV programme in which he and his family went on days out in the UK.

I toyed with how to broach the subject of Star Wars before the call, imagining that as an established and talented actor with an incredible range of roles between him and his time on the forest moon of Endor – he’s been in Labyrinth, Willow, some of the Harry Potter movies and teamed up with Ricky Gervais for comedy TV like Life’s Too Short and An Idiot Abroad – he’d be unwilling or unhappy to hark back to something so long ago.

I needn’t have worried. As well as being charming and engaging, Warwick still has a passion for his work with George Lucas.

He was funny and self-deprecating, and a real delight, especially when chatting enthusiastically about his new venture, the Reduced Height Theatre Company which stages theatrical productions cast exclusively with short actors and using reduced height sets.

As well as feeling privileged to chat with him, I was so grateful that my childhood memories remain undamaged.

Read the piece here

Leave a Reply

