Walk this way… Or the weatherman who walks and talks for Wales

I’ve previously mentioned on this blog the unique celebrities who pop up in various parts of the UK.

Thanks to skipping from one part of the UK to the next in my adult life, I can happily say, ‘Fred, there’s no bread’ and ‘Gonnae no dae that’ where it will be recognised.

But it wasn’t until moving to Wales that I understood the power of an enthusiastically-delivered ‘shwmae’.

derek
PIC CREDIT: Media Wales

Courtesy of Derek Brockway – weatherman, presenter and much-loved personality in these parts – it’s almost a national catchphrase, simply meaning ‘hello’.

I spoke to him for a piece on his book, Great Welsh Walks, and it was very entertaining hearing his stories of wandering the Welsh countryside.

One of the most endearing details is that Derek often finds himself meeting people who recognise him on his walks, but for the Weatherman Walking it’s all part of the exploration.

“I forget where I’ve been, I’ve done so many of these walks,” he laughs. “But it’s important to me that people get out and explore.”

Almost enough to inspire me to get my boots on and start stomping through the countryside. Wonder if I’ll bump into Derek up Pen y Fan. I’ve got my ‘shwmae’ all ready…

Read the piece here

Leave a Reply

